Congressman Jim Oberstar presents Oberstar Safe Routes to School Award to Bear Creek Elementary School

Congressman James L. Oberstar (D-Minn.) presented the Oberstar SRTS Award to a delegation from Bear Creek Elementary in Boulder, Colo., at the National Bike Summit in Washington, D.C. on March 10. The National Center for Safe Routes to School and Congressman Oberstar presented the national award to Principal Kent Cruger, parent volunteers Vivian Kennedy and Jim Kornish, Boulder Valley School District SRTS administrator Landon Hilliard, and three students. The award is named for Congressman Oberstar, chair of the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee, for his dedication to this program.Bear Creek Elementary students, parents and administrators received the Oberstar Award from Congressman Oberstar at the National Bike Summit on March 10.

Bear Creek Elementary School's Safe Routes to School programinvolves 70 percent of students in walking and bicycling activities throughout the year. The school is one of the first in the country to have walking school buses throughout the school year. Principal Kent Cruger challenges students daily with his own examples of car-free travel and creative modes of alternative transportation.

"We are grateful for the support of district personnel, the Safe Routes Program, the City of Boulder, and especially our parent community at Bear Creek," said Cruger. "This team effort has had an incredibly positive impact on our students."